As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

It is undeniable that driving private automobiles by people has extended in developed countries. Although using own car instead of public transportation poses basic benefits for individuals, I think it has further drawbacks for the environment due to air pollution and energy waste. Admittedly, substituting private cars instead of public vehicles has certain advantages. The first positive aspect is that it provides accessibility to car drivers to transfer anywhere at any time they want. Whereas public transportation has its own limited-time programs, private cars result in timesaving. In addition, public networks may not be extended through the cities. For instance, residents who live in less-crowded zones will have challenges finding a public bus or taxi on time. Moreover, another good point is related to the safety and security of private cars, however, much pickpocketing occurs in crowded buses or metros, evidently. Nonetheless, despite the above advantages, driving a private automobile is associated with extra challenges connected to environmental crises. Firstly, convenient automobiles are fuel-burning cars, which have devastating effects on both the environment and oil supplies. As cars work with petrol, more use of them leads to declining limited fuel energy sources. Secondly, more engines raise the amount of car emissions and poisonous exhaust fumes, which consequently causes air pollution and greenhouse gas effects. Lastly, using more private cars ultimate to mass production which indirectly affects the environment by producing waste accumulations. For example, plastics used in cars are a kind of non-biodegradable waste that lasts in the environment for years. In conclusion, however, driving private cars has some utilities for individuals, but I think its demerits to the environment outweigh its merits for individuals.