In many countries around the world,rural people are moving to cities so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is the positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Migration of people is a widespread phenomenon throughout the world and is usually associated with concomitant problems.The rural population around the world in many countries is decreasing since people are moving to neighbouring cities, causing significant changes of previously unseen proportions. In my opinion, people moving out of rural areas is a negative development and this essay will present arguments demonstrating the same. Firstly, the major negative impact is on the overall rural economy, predominantly on farming as the folk required for this activity will be inadequate. For example, the extent of farming produced is reduced drastically because of the shortfall in labour which will accumulate year by year and become unsurmountable.The outcome of the spending power for the remnant will make living in rural areas unviable. Another bleak outcome is sociological in nature because migrations to urban areas are undertaken by younger men and women, leading to a predominance of senior citizens who are left behind to manage household affairs. More often than not this leads to a weak and helpless community who cannot do more than the bare minimum maintenance tasks. As a result, facilities in the countryside, like parks, hospitals, schools, roads etc become rundown and look poverty-stricken. To summarize, the problem of the countryside being depleted of population due to migration is harmful to that part of any nation and has to be rectified. In the above paragraphs, we have seen two such issues out of many more possible deteriorating outcomes and we can conclude that unless there is a concerted intervention by the governments of various countries, the problems of the countryside will be exacerbated.