Many supermarkets sell more and more imported food products than ones produced in their home country. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There are many advantages and disadvantages to markets importing more shipped products than the ones they produce in their nation. This essay will discuss the drawbacks and the benefits of selling imported foods and why people should avoid depending on them all the time. One of the advantages of imported products is avoiding depending on specific local brands. Which means that the customer can have diverse choices while choosing groceries every month. One clear example of this is that it has been shown that 64% of individuals in Saudi Arabia are spending millions on imported products, more than the ones produced in their country. All in all, instead of constantly purchasing the same local product every time, they can try more options. One of the major disadvantages is that citizens should stop supporting other countries by buying their products continuously; the money should go to the government instead of other countries governments. Moreover, it is clear that imported goods are known for being more expensive than local goods. For example, 23% of the people in the United States are spending thousands of dollars every year on products from abroad. This could lead to a lack of support financially towards the country. All in all, citizens must support local products more than the ones from other countries. To conclude, focusing on goods from other countries can help you try various different international foods. However, supporting your own country's goods is more beneficial; it means that you are cooperative with your country.