Some people say that the only reason for learning language is in order to travel ro or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary epoch, some individuals believe that the only purpose for learning a new language is to travel or pursue work in foreign countries. Others do not think the same, they believe that there are plenty of reasons to learn a foreign language. I am of the belief that being fluent in multiple languages can help any individual in fields other than work or travel. My contention will be further explained. On the one hand, some individuals believe that seeking jobs in foreign countries is the only reason for learning new languages. In other words, multinational companies have some strict requirements for accepting new applicants, one of these requirements is being fluent in multiple languages. Accordingly, if job seekers want to apply for one of these companies, they should be fluent in multiple languages and have certificates that prove their linguistic fluency. For example, an article published by the BBC revealed that a large number of doctors and dentists from developing countries need to pass language exams with high scores before applying for work at prestigious hospitals overseas. Therefore, seeking jobs abroad with lucrative pay is one of the reasons for learning a second language. On the other hand, it is believed that learning other languages is not only beneficial for job seeking and travelling, but it is also quintessential for improving communication between others worldwide. This means that knowledge of different languages is needed in order to establish relations and acquire new friends from other countries. A prime example of this is Facebook, in which different individuals from different countries and cultures need to have a common language to communicate with each other. Hence, learning foreign languages is quintessential for communication with individuals in different countries. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that learning new languages is not only important for having a successful career, but it is also beneficial for establishing communication with others around the world. Consequently, I think that foreign languages should be taught to pupils from a young age to help them in the future.