Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

In the modern day and age, there are many believers that technology has united us together by social media platforms and online communication to stay in touch with our families and friends but some think it has pushed us into isolation and caused disconnection from each other. Technology has both advantages and disadvantages and in this essay, I will discuss both points of view and give my opinion. At present, there are many network applications available through which you can stay in touch with your family and friends. For instance, Facebook is a prime example of social media platform through which you can video call, chat, post pictures and stay updated with your former classmates, friends from work or any stranger. This gives a chance to communicate with anyone possible, yet there is no in-person deep connection with them. On the other hand, excessive use of these apps has led to a lack of social skills. Furthermore, the continuous urge to check online updates has affected productivity and quality of communication. For example, at family dinners instead of talking to each other, most group members are interested in clicking selfies and food photos to upload on their social media accounts is concerning. This shows that technology has driven us apart. In conclusion, from my perspective, modern communication tools are an essential pillar of our lives nowadays. However the impact of digital platforms on relationships largely depends on their utilization. When employed mindfully, technology can strengthen connections and bridge distances, ultimately outweighing the disadvantages associated with digital disconnection.