Foreign tourists abroad should be charged more than local people when visiting the local historical and cultural tourist attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The past 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in the number of international travellers. While some argue that entrance costs to local cultural and historical tourist attractions should be higher for foreign tourists, in this essay, I intend to argue that this is immoral and might degrade the tourist industry in destination countries. The reasons for this are as follows. First of all, it is evident that establishing an extra charge for tourists from abroad will plunge the number of tourists from abroad. Compelling them to pay more to be permitted to visit local historical and cultural places would create a sense of discrimination, discouraging them from making a holiday to the same country again. According to a psychological principle, behaving unfairly because of nationality is unappealing to humans and is considered to be immoral. Continuing this trend, the tourist industry, therefore, is more likely to degenerate and decline the economic bases of the destination nations. Yet, perhaps the strongest argument against this is an exponential decline in cultural and historical heritage values. Of course, forcing foreign tourists to pay more has the potential to boost the economic bases of the destination communities; however, this approach indicates too much emphasis on the materialistic values of such monuments, resulting in a significant decrease in their spiritual values. Furthermore, travellers from abroad may assume that they have been abused and that their civil rights have been violated. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that if governments wish to be consistent in pursuing their dream of a sustainable tourist industry, all tourists to the country should be treated fairly and justly.