Some people argue that holding sporting events is beneficial to countries' development. However, other people hold the opposite opinion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Holding sporting events is often considered to be advantageous for countries' development. Nevertheless, there are individuals who disagree with this point of view. My essay will discuss both opinions and provide my own way of thinking. On the one hand, those occasions contribute to the economy. Foreign sports fans explore local restaurants, cafes, hotels and other public places and spend their money. For instance, during the Olympic Games in 2018 Russian sector of service experienced a large growth. Thus, the level of economic development increases when a country holds such an event. Moreover, the number of people who visit tourist attractions rises also. Fans and sportsmen tend to see the most spectacular sights between the competitions. For example, European governments earn lots of money on museum tickets while the European Cup is held. This is beneficial for the economy as well. On the other hand, foreigners can damage the most significant national sights. Ancient temples or statues can be ruined. As an example, the Trevi Fountain in Rome often has to be cleaned up because fans throw garbage next to it. Furthermore, during these special occasions, crime is more widespread than usual. Crowded streets become more and more dangerous. To illustrate, while the Olympics in France were held, hundreds of individuals got robbed. Such a criminal situation in a country can lower its international status. I suppose that organising sporting events is essential for every country that wants to prosper and engage people from different regions to come and invest in its economy. Hence, I claim that it is indispensable for governmental development. In conclusion, I would like to say that even though holding such competitions has some minuses, all the advantages outweigh its drawbacks.