In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem?

The increasing overweight young population all over the world is concerning the global society. This trend could be related to the huge amount of fast food or unhealthy snacks that people use to eat because of economic problems or lack of time. Nowadays, authorities are developing plans to improve childhood obesity. Scientists have been warning for many years about the consequences of not eating healthily; however, the interests of the principal processed food industries as well as the biggest meat producers are above any other. Being the economic benefits a priority over a healthy society. Moreover, the impoverishment of the population with the ridiculous free time that families have available to cook at home is not improving this situation. For instance, I have been researching about the average calory intake of a child in the United States and I have found out that it is 3 times higher than what it should be, this overconsumption of aliments full of fat such as sugar and oil, are causing the highest rate of obesity ever registered. Nevertheless, hope is not lost, nowadays governments and international organizations have been meeting to create global guidelines to tackle the problem. The plans include teaching at schools how to improve the relationship with aliments, advertising regulations, and the creation of safe environments for those who are not able to get healthy and nutritious meals, among others. For example, in my town, the local authorities have opened a dining area with warm food for everyone who needs it. To summarize, the obesity-related issue among young people is considered a warning alarm which is being taken seriously by governments. In order to reverse this situation, mainly caused by economic resources, measures are being implemented like universal knowledge of how the right choice of aliments can be the ally. As far as I know, scientists such as doctors and nutritionists are fighting against it.