Some people think that companies and individuals should pay to clear up the pollution they produced and that the government should not pay for it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ever since the Industrial Revolution, people have been concerned about the pollution generated on Earth. There is a heated debate about the obligation to pay and solve this environmental issue. While some argue that companies and individuals should be the only ones in charge, I believe that this arguement is biased and we should collaborate with the government to combat this issue together. The following are some key reasons why we should enable a joint approach. First and foremost, efforts from companies and individuals are fundamental in reducing the amount of pollution. This is because most pollutants come from the daily living basis and domestic production process. Taking air pollution, for example, a huge proportion of its polluted air originates from the harmful gas dumped by our transportation vehicles. Also, a lot of detrimental pollutants are also diffused into the air by urban factories. This includes burning coal to generate electricity and manufacturing batteries. Therefore, fining companies and individuals enables them to choose a more eco-friendly way of living and explore cleaner methods of manufacturing compared to the preceding ones. This, in return, helps reduce the amount of pollution. On the other hand, the government has a vital role in this phenomenal issue. This is because it has the authority to reinforce rules and standards to regulate pollution. For example, it can support sustainable technologies companies with incentives to clean the pollution in the ocean and recycle the waste. It can also invest more funding into the public transportation sector to invite individuals to choose greener travelling options. This helps reduce the amount of road traffic, thus, decreasing the amount of air pollution. Accordingly, it is obvious that the government should be actively involved in this pollution matter. In summary, it is undeniable that all three parties mentioned above have the obligation to pay and contribute to clearing the pollution. Having only the companies and people to clean up the mess is not enough to combat various challenges in this matter. Only by enabling a collaborative approach with the government are we able to effectively solve this environmental concern.