A a result of tourism and increasing number of people traveling, there is growing demands for more flights. What problem does this have on environment? What measures should be taken?

Nowadays, more flights have to be arranged than previously because the number of tourists is increasing dramatically. This essay will discuss several environmental issues that can be caused by this phenomenon and provide some possible solutions to avoid them. First of all, planes produce exhaust fumes also. Actually, their engines produce even more CO2 than cars, especially while takeoff and landing. For instance, in England, the quality of air got worse in the 1970s than in the 1960s because airlines became more accessible to people, so travelling by plane gained more popularity. Thus, the atmosphere is getting polluted by airlines every day. Also, airlines require such a source of energy as electricity. It is often used for the light bulbs and buttons for pilots. Nevertheless, electrical power is usually produced with the help of technologies that are not eco-friendly. For example, the light in planes is provided by motors which are powered by fuel. Hence, the expenditures on fuel also increase, the same as the amount of carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere. Some solutions can be suggested. Firstly, the main incentive for people to fly more rarely than they used to is the rise in the prices for tickets. Consequently, tourists would think twice before purchasing a ticket if this happened. Secondly, engineers should think about implementing such sources of power that do not require fossil fuels to be used. To illustrate, solar panels may be added to planes, so it will be possible to reduce the usage of environmentally dangerous fuels. So, the release of exhaust fumes will decrease. To summarise, the rise of tourism and the number of flights can have a bad impact on air quality. This problem may be solved by increasing the costs of tickets and using recyclable ways of getting energy.