Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that a large number of food and drinks produced contain high amounts of sugar, which may cause several health issues. It is suggested that products which are rich with sugar should be more expensive in order to discourage people from consuming much sugar. The purpose of this essay is to give an opinion on this topic and to discuss different sides of this topic. First of all, the negative health influence of excessive sugar consumption is obvious. Most scientists and medics agree that sugar is one of the biggest health issue sources in the world. Sugar overconsumption may lead to numerous dangerous health conditions, some of which are unable to be fully treated, even with the help of modern medicine. This includes heart failure, blood vessel weakness, insults, obesity, diabetes and other severe health issues. By reducing the sugar consumption, people are able to protect themselves from numerous health problems which may significantly improve the quality of life. Also, it is known that product prices may indeed regulate people ’s behaviour and attitude towards certain kinds of food. By making sugary products more expensive, governments will be able to control the amount of sugar that people consume. This way, there would be less health issues caused by sugar overconsumption, as people tend to avoid spending much money on food and drinks. If sugar will be less available, people will avoid the overconsumption and become healthier. To conclude, this essay agrees with the statement above.