What is your preference when looking for a new device: friend's recommendations or magazines, newspapers or articles? Give reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It always feels choosey when you want to buy something. In this case, we can ask our friends for recommendations or we can find some information in newspapers or articles. For me, I would search things on papers or research for two reasons. Firstly, magazines or newspapers have more professional and accurate information. Journalists take days and months to write their articles and their job is to provide accurate details about products, events, etc. From my experience, I've seen articles that Airpods Max has the lowest sound distortion compared to its rivals. And I also listened to Sony's headphones to check the fact if it's true. In my feelings, Sony's headphones sounded more numb than AirPods Max. So I eventually bought the latter. Secondly, recommendations can contain stereotypes. It's a natural phenomenon to have a stereotype, but it's your job to filter it. And it might confuse you when you contrast it with other opinions. Once, I made a survey on whether to buy a Macbook for my study. Some of my friends said buying a Macbook is a waste of money, and one of my friends said the Macbook series has the best audio system so I might not regret buying it. Anyway, I bought a Macbook Pro and I don't regret it. To summarise, listening to recommendations can cause confusion due to stereotypes, and media such as magazines have professional information to buy a new device.