The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that the housing problem in metropolises which is widespread today and has its social consequences can be solved only by the government. I completely agree with this opinion. This essay will prove this point of view with the help of examples and provide a logical conclusion. First of all, governments are interested in providing accessible real estate more than construction companies. While the companies often build luxurious apartments, the municipalities usually construct flats that can be bought by medium or lower-class people. For instance, in Saint Petersburg, a construction company was not allowed to build an expensive block of apartments because the cheaper one had to be provided for people with mediocre wealth. Thus, the municipality of Saint-Petersburg effectively solved the housing problem that the business could not handle. Moreover, the government can optimise the costs of the construction process by choosing materials which are lower in price. Unlike the building firms which use expensive ones, the unfair prices for real estate are reduced in this way. For example, in the Netherlands, a lot of students and young people with tight budgets can live in small flats that are made of containers. Consequently, this country gives a great opportunity for individuals with modest budgets to obtain a decent place to live. To sum up, it is obvious that only those who are in power can handle this situation. While the private firms are interested in their income, the powerful structures tend to give average individuals more chances of purchasing an accessible house.