In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constricting new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Modern technology has significantly enhanced the transportation industry. While some individuals believe that governments should spend their funds on building high-speed trains, others argue that money should be used to improve the current public transit. This essay will discuss both arguments, and I will provide my opinion on the matter. To begin with, superfast trains will significantly reduce the commuting time between cities. This will provide companies with numerous opportunities to expand their business because it takes less time to carry their product from one city to another. Fresh food suppliers, for instance, can target out-of-town consumers to sell their produce. In addition, travel duration for people will be reduced, allowing them to apply for jobs in other cities. For example, a person living in Orangeville can apply for a position in the Greater Toronto Area if the travel time is just one hour. On the other hand, expanding the existing transport system has a few benefits over creating superfast railways. Firstly, authorities do not need to acquire new lands and cut down trees. They just need to increase the number of streetcars and long-route buses, allowing more people to travel using public transit. Moreover, this increase can encourage people to use public options for commuting rather than their own private vehicles. This approach would definitely reduce traffic on the road and reduce natural gas consumption, resulting in less air pollution. Hence, there will be less cost and less damage to the environment. In conclusion, although creating fast-track train lines might increase job and business possibilities, I believe that improving the current transit system is a better option because it causes less harm to the environment.