the most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Science is the biggest source of inventions and discoveries from centuries ago until today. The nature of science and discoveries is rooted in the basic human instinct, which is searching for a more convenient way of living. I side with public who believe that the target development of science is to improve the lives of society. This will be proven by discussing how medicines derived from science can help the improvement of health conditions around the world and how the invention of modern technologies brings ease to our everyday life. Firstly, the discovery of technology, vaccines, and antibiotics has been proven to save billions of lives across the globe. For instance, Polio used to be one of the most infectious emerging diseases which killed thousands of population annually in Europe before the breakthrough of vaccination. After the inventions of medicine and prevention methods of handling illnesses, the declining trends of emerging diseases like Polio are apparent and even almost successfully eliminated. Hence, science is the tool for health practitioners and scientists to fight illnesses in the world. Secondly, modern inventions like cars, electricity, and the internet are all initially intended to bring ease to people's lives. For example, the industrial revolution happened because of the automation made by inventors to improve the quality of farmer's cultivation. Thus, science indirectly plays a huge role in the making of these technologies. To summarize, science allows health and technology to thrive and upgrade because of a very fundamental focus, which is to improve the lives of society. Retrospectively, scientists of the old days who invented the crucial technologies that are known until now are not learning science for the sake of science itself, but to discover a tool to make people's lives easier.