Many cities around the world are facing issues due to overpopulation. what problems does this cause and what solutions can be iplemented to tackle these challenges?

Overpopulation is a serious problem in many large cities around the globe, which can lead to an inadequacy of infrastructure and environmental hazards from polluted substances. Governments should decentralise economically and politically to smaller cities and invest more in the basic infrastructure. With the number of people exceeding the capacity of a city, it is inevitable that there will be shortages of the basic utilities, housing and transportation systems for everyone. Also, the environmental impact of overconsumption, such as air pollution, is mainly caused by harmful emissions from too many vehicles. For example, railway systems in Bangkok are facing overcrowded commuters every day during rush hours, which not only increases commuting time but also decreases the quality of the services. Moreover, Bangkok is now one of the worst air quality cities in the world because of too many vehicles and traffic congestions that emit and lock the fine dust within the area. Eventually, people's quality of life is affected. Therefore, the solutions for these issues should mainly come from the government's efforts. Firstly, they should have a national plan to develop rural areas to attract population distribution to less dense towns, with increasing employment, or tax benefits. Moreover, the government should also develop the basic infrastructure to support the increasing number of people, especially basic utilities such as water and electricity. In conclusion, overpopulation can cause a shortage of supporting systems for basic needs in the city and a pollution problem, which should be solved by the development of rural areas and building more infrastructures.