Doing an enjoyable activity with a child is better for their overall skills development and creativity than reading. to what extent do you agree?

Some people believe that doing an enjoyable activity with a child is the best way of expanding the kid’s skill in comparison with reading. While, I acknowledge that doing an activity in the form of playing has a crucial role in nurturing several skills, I believe that reading also has its unique benefits in fostering some essential skills. On the one hand, engaging children in well-structured and creative activities, in a playing form, is a powerful tool that enriches various aspects of their growth. Firstly, activities such as doing puzzles, building blocks or creating artwork with kids, develop their cognitive skills. Such activities can stimulate young brains and encourage curiosity, while nurturing problem-solving skills, critical thinking, and decision-making. Secondly, cooking or baking collaboratively with kids can cultivate their social skills like following instructions and teamwork. Lastly, encouraging children to do indoor or outdoor sports can expand their physical development. On the other hand, I believe actively reading well-structured books poses many merits. For example, reading story books can engage children in storytelling activity which is a kind of imaginative play. Creating stories, characters and scenarios can promote the creativity and narrative thinking of kids. In addition, reading emotion-themed storybooks that explore different emotions and discuss the characters’ feelings can help children to improve emotional regulation by relating those emotions to their own experiences. Furthermore, reading books for them can improve their active listening skills. In conclusion, playing with kids whether in the form of fun activities such as constructing a structure with blocks, collaborating cooking, doing sports or whether in the form of reading actively books for them, all are far more than just fun and serve as a catalysts for developing childhood overall skills.