Some people say that protecting the environment is the governments’ responsibility. others believe that every individual should take responsibility for it. Discuss Both views and give your opinion.

The fourth industrial revolution has caused detrimental effects on the environment. Several accusations have been pointed at governments by climate activists while others associated these negative consequences with community behaviour. Since this argument remains a bone of contention, this essay will discuss both perspectives and reasons viewed by each party. To begin with, many consider governments to be in charge of the disasters occurring in natural habitats around the globe. Today, plenty of areas are suffering from drought, with many species being to anticipated be extinct. Thus, environmental advocates reiterate that the public sector has to shoulder the responsibility of restoring and conserving both marine and land areas. This is believed so because country leaders can allocate large investments in green initiatives and projects as well as encourage collective climate action to bring about large-scale effects. Moreover, by enacting the proper laws and regulations, it is within the hands of governments to restrict industries that contribute to contaminating water bodies, such as the oil sector. In contrast, individuals argue that our daily practices are factors in play in polluting the environment. A wider segment of society nowadays prefers to use plastic and polymers to sustainable materials. For instance, a family who spends time in a national park opts for single-use spoons, straws, and plates to name a few. These disposable items, upon decomposing, emit CO2 emissions into the atmosphere, exacerbating the Ozone layer and the increase of unfiltered sun rays. In addition, plastic requires a long process of recycling, which most of the community does not take into consideration and throws these everyday items in the wrong bins. Furthermore, men and women are not completely convinced to use alternatives that can help the environment. Examples include electric cars and bicycles, two means of transport that release a lower amount of greenhouse gas emissions into the air. In conclusion, it is fundamental to protect the environment. Despite the common fallacy that governments are in the wrong for not taking urgent steps to reduce various types of pollution, individuals are playing a major role in putting land and sea areas at risk. In my view, households need to follow a new approach and become more environmentally friendly to preserve the Earth.