Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

There has been a debate recently about many harmful contents on the internet. Some might say that the government should mitigate the risk by censoring the content of websites. I personally believe that the bad outcomes could be prevented with it as one of the solutions. In this essay, I will explain more about the topic. To start with, the most affected individuals by harmful content would be children. As a matter of fact, the number of underage porn nowadays is undeniable. For instance, there are many children who have started masturbating from an early age. The biggest possibility is they may not know the risk of masturbating. Additionally, many kids are speaking inappropriate words. Therefore, I fully support censoring the content of websites on the internet. There are many things that can be avoided with a safe internet. On the contrary, I do not think that the authorities should entirely control the information available on the Internet. Especially, adult individuals should be able to browse the internet freely. In my opinion, controlled information should only be applied to the underage. As an example, some phones already have a feature of 'kids mode'. So that, the guardians can let their kid use the phone safely but still be accompanied by constant surveillance. For this reason, I believe that not everyone should be given controlled information by the government In conclusion, I personally agree that the government should control information on the internet to make it a safe place for children. Adults, on the other hand, should have the freedom to browse. However, the government can raise public awareness of scams, hoaxes, and other bad internet examples.