Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Some argue that classes in school should be optional for students, while others believe that all students should study the same subjects in school. While giving students the option to choose is a beneficial by encouraging them to be special, I believe that students all must learn variations of subjects to achieve academic success. Some students do not do well in some scientific classes such as maths and physics and if they have the opportunity to remove these courses they will. Math is considered a significant part of our lives, however, if students do not study it they will lose a real life skill. For example, according to Oxford University, it stated that experts say that 40% of teenagers struggle when doing their daily calculation of numbers due to their dependence on phones. Because of that, they will not be able even to do any simple tasks in the future. However, I believe one of the drawbacks of giving students the freedom to choose is their lack of experience in life, and all schools should require all students to take all the important classes and acquire the skills to be a responsible people. The allowance for choosing courses is available in some academic institutions but only for art and gym courses, which is acceptable because it would not affect students ' essential skills. Moreover, it is beneficial for students who prefer to learn new skills such as drawing or playing football. However, some may start a career beginning from school classes, for instance, part of famous actors participating in high- school theatres. Anyway, I believe that some art classes can be optional if they will not impact students in negative way. In conclusion, although some would say that all classes in school can be optional, I believe that only if they are classes related to art, but other than that all students should take scientific materials.