In the future nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this idea.

In this technological era of advancements, it is commonly argued that in the future no one will purchase printed newspapers or books as all of these will be readily available online without paying. This essay disagrees with this notion and is going to discuss why this is the case. First of all, no matter how cheap the technology becomes it can not overcome the pleasure of reading a physical book along with a cup of coffee on a good day. Secondly, there are some elder people who still prefer the printed means of reading. For instance, my neighbour is in his seventies and always prefers a book or paper over technology anytime. This is because of the reason, elder people are not good with technical devices and they are set in their own ways of printed media and do not wish to change that. In addition, most of the people consider reading as a hobby and as their idea of quality time. Younger generation tends to spend most of their time in front of screens and is getting stressed because of this. So, the idea of reading books or paper for them is a method of giving some time away from blue light. Case in point is my sister. She used to spend 12 hours of her day over computer screen and now is facing serious eyes and stress issues. So, now she is shifting towards reading a book before bed instead of burying in her phone. To sum up, free websites and technology can not overcome the satisfaction of reading an actual book and reading is considered as a hobby which allows some time away from digital world. So, due to these reasons overcoming printed media is not possible.