Many people in the music business feel that illegal music sites on the internet are a serious threat to the industry and more should be done to prevent them from operating. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Recently, illegal music sites ' problems have become more serious to the music industry and they can disrupt the music business hugely. They believe more actions are needed to be done to stop them from operating. In this essay, I will explain some reasons behind this statement on why should we agree or disagree with them and will further give my perspective in the conclusion. Firstly, these illegal music sites can harm the producers of the music. They will feel disrespected because of the efforts they have made to make music. While they hope to get money and popularity from their songs, these illegal sites prevent them from getting it. They will not get any money, royalty, as well as the chance to perform on stage. For example, the estimated loss happen to the Kangen Band, one of my country's famous bands, is amounting almost 10 billion. This happened because many of their fans bought the songs from illegal music sites, so their music label did not get income. Secondly, the regulation for this issue is so soft to the offender. The government should be more aware and make more impactful moves to overcome the threat. They can increase the punishment so the offenders will think twice about doing that again. For instance, the punishment that may work is putting them in jail for maybe 10-15 years and also fining them as much as the victim's loss. In summary, there are many issues coming from these illegal activities and some recommended options to stop or at least minimize them. I strongly believe that the illegal music sites should be fought more, we as a people and the governments as the regulators.