In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some nations, young ones are told to work hard in order to achieve anything they wish. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of adopting such a mindset when dealing with children. On the one hand, if we looked closely at the meaning behind that message, we would see that it aims to emphasize and encourage the work and effort made by a child instead of his/her inherited traits. In other words, by adopting this notion, equal opportunities will be given to the gifted and average youngsters, removing any difference among them and resulting in greater accomplishments. For instance, studies have shown that on doing several tasks, children who were praised for their effort showed a greater ability to work and push themselves, discovering where their limit lies, than those who were praised for their intelligence, as they choose to only accept tasks that they thought their limitations lie within. On the other hand, we must not forget that they are just children. Thus making them feel that their value is dependent on the amount of achievements they accomplish would likely lower their self-esteem and act as a pressuring force. on them. This will result in reduced play and leisure time, which will negatively affect the development of their well-being. To illustrate, unlike the increased demand for excessive work due to high academic pressure and competitiveness put on young learners, it has been proven that playing is essential in building certain skills such as creativity, writing, and imagination. For example, research done by a number of professionals has shown that preschoolers who play with dolls regularly have higher storytelling and writing skills. Therefore, if children overwork themselves, they will not ideally become better but will underdevelop in many other aspects. In conclusion, despite the fact that stating that with hard work everything is achievable, pressuring young ones to overwork themselves will not mean greater accomplishments but might negatively affect their overall ability to endure certain skills.