Having police officers patrolling the streets is often considered an essential way to to reduce crime. How effective do you think police street patrolling are?. What other ways to reduce crime can you purpose?

It is an undeniable fact that reducing the crime rate is very popular. It is often argued by some folks that police officers patrolling is considered an essential way to lower the number of accidents. Nevertheless, other groups deny this fact. In this essay, both views will be discussed. However, I strongly believe that there is another way to improve the situation. To begin with, even though many officers stroll around the neighbourhood, they can not monitor every street at a real-time pace. That is, criminals can look for more shady areas with no control from the authorities. For example, in Brazil, the authorities perform a similar routine but the result is ineffective. In addition, police can focus more on serious cases since they can't witness the crime on first-hand experience. To reduce the misconduct rate, another alternative can be introduced. Firstly, setting more CCTVs can help regulators monitor streets in real-time conditions. For instance, in places with low crime rates like South Korea and China CCTVs are common in the streets. Moreover, giving stricter punishment will make people reconsider their decision to cross the border, meaning they have to spend time in jail or pay a huge amount of money as their punishment. In this matter, it is essential to establish a strict system to prevent accidents by law. In conclusion, I believe patrolling is more like a symbolic action than an effective implementation of regulation to prevent criminal action.