Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While economic growth is considered the ultimate goal by many governments, others suggest that there are other essential types of progress that should not be overlooked. This essay will analyze both points of view before concluding my own outlook. On one hand, it is reasonable to attach such importance to economic development, as it is one of the determinants to make a country become a success. Money is what controls transactions and ensures goods that otherwise have little of it, the residents may suffer from the deficiency of the bare necessities, such as food and accommodation. This besides has a negative impact on humans, especially wrecked health status and well-being, because of inadequacy and uncomfortable lives, even leading to a decline in the life standard of an entire nation. For example, several African countries, where the financial budget is still limited, have been recorded to have the lowest happiness rate, showcasing how crucial economic progress is. On the other hand, I am convinced that there are some factors as universally necessary as the nation's economy, prominently the human development index(HDI). The term consists of: a long and healthy life, being knowledgeable, decent standard of living and average annual income. These aforementioned sectors also make contributions to citizen's happiness, being the ultimate criteria for assessing the success of a country. Furthermore, having a prosperous financial background alone doesn't assure people of satisfactory living. Some societal issues can consistently exist in this setting. To exemplify, India, despite standing as the world's leading economy, is regarded as one of the worst places to settle in, in light of gender prejudice towards women, high sex crime, and the polluted environment. All things considered, although I acknowledge the dominant role of financial resources, I assert that other components, including societal ones, should not be neglected for their equal significance.