Some people believe that all the children in school are required to learn at least one foreign language. However, others say that those who are not talented do not have to learn. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, there is a widespread argument on the issue of teaching at least one foreign language at schools. While learning a foreign language would be challenging for unintelligent students, the benefits of this approach far outweigh the accompanied difficulties on this journey. The reasons for this are as follows. To begin with, it is an undeniable fact that forcing low-talented pupils to learn a foreign language could result in negative consequences. Obviously, students possess various levels of mental abilities; however, expecting the same pace and power of learning from all of them could put them under intolerable pressure, making them reluctant to other scientific subjects and leave school. According to research by Tabriz University, 30% of Iranian students who abandoned secondary school in 2020, complained about too much expectation on the part of tutors and their frustration in meeting their expectations, consequently. Moreover, these unsuccessful experiences could decline their self-confidence and cause other personality issues. As a result, any modification in the educational system should be in accordance with all students ’ physical and mental abilities. Nevertheless, I think the tremendous merits of learning another language from school age are irrefutable. The capability of understanding and speaking the languages of developed nations such as English or Japanese could pave the way toward relating with companies or businesses in different places, leading to exponential progress for bilingual or trilingual individuals. According to statistics, 90% of prominent and famous companies’ bosses can speak more than three languages which highlights the importance of learning foreign languages. Importantly, being bilingual or trilingual improves the performance and efficiency of the human brain. Incorporating teaching foreign languages, therefore, in the educational systems of schools is justified. In conclusion, although emphasising learning a foreign language would be unfulfilling for less talented students, it could be associated with breathtaking advantages for smart ones.