Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

These days, interaction among people in a neighbourhood is barely to be seen. Therefore, not many people know their neighbors. Technology may take part in developing individualistic traits but it is not impossible that other societal factors can cause this issue. Whereas, knowing people that live nextdoor is important for maintaining good and peaceful life around the house. There are many reasons why a lot of people barely know their neighbours. First, the tendency to rely on online platforms to interact with people sets a mindset that there is no need to talk eye-to-eye with others, especially those who live nearby. If they need something, they will probably ask their relatives that are dwelling overseas rather than their neighbours. Moreover, people who live in a big city are known for their hustle culture which makes them more focused on working than connecting with other individuals. In addition to that, some people may have inconvenient experiences that affect their interaction with their surroundings. For instance, some people have gotten their privacy messed up by their former neighbours, so they hesitate to communicate with people in the new environment. Despite the mentioned reasons, people must be aware that engaging with others who live in the same environment is crucial. It can be done by sparing time for socializing with people in their neighbourhood, even if it is just a small conversation. Additionally, people can attempt to show their care and respect to others, as simple as helping them clean their front yard or visiting them when they get sick. In conclusion, not many people are familiar with their own neighbourhood and the people who dwell there because of individualism. However, they must put effort into creating good relationships with their neighbours through maintaining communication, as they will understand them better than anyone else outside their environment.