There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

An increasing number of married couples around the world choosing to remain childless. The main benefits of not having a child for couples are that they can focus on their careers and have more time for themselves. The drawbacks of this trend are that they cannot fit into their peers' lives and have no one to look after them when they get old. On the one hand, one primary advantage of remaining childless for couples is that they can focus on their work. This is because they have less responsibility and distractions compared to others who have children. Another advantage is that they have more spare time. Looking after a child might seem like a full- time job, and requires time while child-free couples have more time after work. For example, many couples stop going out late with their friends after having a child as they have to stay at home to look after their children. On the other hand, there are two main disadvantages of this choice. Firstly, couples that decide not to have children struggle to hang with their peers after most of them have children. Most parents prefer to spend time with other couples that have children as well. Moreover, do not having anyone to look after them when they are older is another drawback. Children are the ones who take care of their parents during their elderly time because their parents did the same when they were young. For example, the vast majority of people who live in care homes have no children. In conclusion, the main benefits of having no children are that couples can be more career-oriented and have more time for personal needs, and the main drawbacks are that keeping in touch with friends who have children might be hard for childless couples, and they might not to find someone who can take care of them when they are getting old.