Space exploration and the possibility of colonizing other planets have become popular topics of discussion. What are the advantages and disadvantages of investing in space exploration?

Technological evolution has become increasingly realistic in the scenario of space exploration and extraterrestrial colonization. Despite the benefits brought by space missions being enormous, regarding knowledge and alternative environments for life, the significant drawbacks related to costs and the extended period needed to fulfil this task must be considered. On the one hand, space exploration may bring understanding about physical questions that still need clarification, leading to paramount scientific advances. For example, research during outspace outpace our space travels could provide scientists with learning about the physics laws of black holes, and bring light to quantum dynamics, which is a pillar of cutting-edge computational processing. Additionally, these missions could lead to a viable alternative environment for humanity in case of a climate or nuclear disaster. As a result, future generations could, for instance, safely live on a spaceship, like the International Space Station, or on a distant planet and perpetuate the human race. On the other hand, the efforts and costs of sustaining space programs are demanding, constituting a relevant drawback. This is because funding for this kind of development is usually provided by public institutions, and the amount of money destined for it could be applied to current social issues. To illustrate, only now, fifty years after the last landing on the moon, NASA has finally launched a new mission with the same goal, meanwhile, part of the American population living in Florida is suffering from the effects of tropical storms and hurricanes. So a question arises: why do not invest the financial resources for accomplishing this lunar mission to prevent climate change impacts? To summarize, the advantages of proceeding with space explorations and interplanetary colonization are closely related to increasing our knowledge and searching for an alternative environment for human beings, which is tempting. Although the efforts and financial resources for these goals could be invested to solve ongoing problems in our society, and constitutes an important disadvantage to be seriously considered.