In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In these days, imported food products are available from all over the world for consumption in every convenience store. I believe that although a variety of products is good, only depending on imported food may cause a serious crisis. On the one hand, a majority of food choices are not a bad thing but actually help both the government and the civilians. To illustrate, imported foods are often much more expensive than locally produced products. This is because governments tend to include extra taxes on these items as they are considered to be luxury items. Thus, when citizens continue to consume them, extra taxes are paid, which can contribute to the overall advancement of the country. Moreover, people have different tastes and preferences, so if they have a more varied list of choices, they will be able to fulfil their desires and might even learn about different cultures through their food. On the other hand, overreliance on these products might cause a number of economic problems. This is mainly caused by the fact that conflicts among countries may occur at any time, and without food security, food can be a strategic weapon to pressure the enemy and put the citizens at risk of starvation. For instance, during the beginning of the siege crisis in Qatar, the country lacked basic food supplies such as fruits, vegetables, and dairy, due to the lack of local production and its lack of authority among the Qatari residents and locals. Thus supermarkets quickly ran out of supplies, and people nearly starved. In conclusion, while the presence of imported supplies in supermarkets will not actually do any harm, these products should be just a complement to local production to overcome the risk of political exploitation.