In some societies, more and more people choose to live on their own. What are the reasons people choose to do this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

One school of thought holds that individuals want to live on their own, but it will bring a variety of negative effects for them. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that the latter is more significant. On the one hand, populations that opt to live freely the way they want are disadvantageous to some extent. Firstly, all the responsibilities of the household lie on one's own shoulders if they are living by themselves. For example, they need to double down in their job to earn a decent salary, which helps them to pay for the cost of living, such as accommodations, bills, and food. Secondly, sometimes, they can feel upset and alone without loved ones. For instance, it could also lead to social isolation, loneliness, and less familial or communal support during challenging times. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that people choosing to live alone play a vital role in life. One rationale is that they can pursue greater independence and personal freedom. This is because living alone allows individuals to make decisions without the need for compromise and offers the freedom to structure their lives as they can fix. On the positive side, living alone can promote self-reliance, personal growth, and mental well-being. However, on the negative side, it could also lead to social isolation, loneliness, and less familial or communal support during challenging times. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that people are living alone will meet some difficulties, I would contend that it is a positive choice as it would make individuals learn to take responsibilities.