Most countries allow 18-year olds to start driving a car. Some say it is good to allow it at this age. But others think that the age to start driving should be at least 25. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, it is undeniable that governments must decide the appropriate age at which young people should be allowed to drive. Some believe that permitting individuals to start driving at 18 is reasonable, while others argue that the minimum age should be increased to 25 for safety reasons. In this essay, an attempt will be made to examine both perspectives. Those who support allowing young people to drive at 18 provide some reasons to justify their view. One of the most apparent benefits is that early driving permission increases independence and access to education or employment. To illustrate, many young adults need transportation to attend university, work part-time jobs, or support their families. For instance, in rural areas where public transport is limited, driving at 18 can significantly improve mobility and opportunities, helping young people develop responsibility and practical life skills. Those who disagree with the above idea also have some points that should not be overlooked. One major reason is that older drivers may be more emotionally mature and cautious on the road. To clarify, individuals in their mid-twenties often have better judgement, risk awareness, and driving discipline compared to teenagers. For example, accident statistics in many countries show that younger drivers are more likely to be involved in risky behaviour such as speeding or distracted driving, which supports the argument for a higher minimum age. To recapitulate, it is evident that some people support allowing driving at 18 because it promotes independence and opportunity, while others believe a higher age would improve road safety. Having considered both sides thoroughly, I have personally come to believe that 18 can remain the minimum age, provided that strict training, testing, and safety education are implemented to ensure responsible driving.