Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts think children should start learning a foreign language at primary rather than secondary school. While some drawbacks are associated with this subject, I believe the main benefits are more substantial. On the one hand, a significant advantage of beginning to learn another language than the mother language at primary school may be the fast learning of children at primary school because of their fresh minds. Children ’s brains are like a white slate that is ready to write vital things, like another country’s tongue, on it because their brains are on the growing path and learning as much as they can. Children also do not resist learning. Furthermore, this learning age makes them intelligent and scores higher in their other courses. To prove this, surf the Internet, especially the YouTube website, to see it up close. On the other hand, a potential disadvantage of teaching another country’s language to primary school children is perhaps falling behind in their studies. As a result of learning another language to this level of children, they are forced to do more homework and language practice, and they do not have ample time to reach all of them and do them on time. However, this downside will never happen if parents and teachers have a plan and schedule. In addition, another downside is losing the mother tongue. Children, at an early age, start to be educated. They are unfamiliar with the differences between first language and second language because they are learning both of them simultaneously. Nonetheless, if teachers begin the process of learning gradually and distinguish the differences, it is never going to happen. In conclusion, learning at primary rather than secondary school would indeed seem to have disadvantages like children ’s studies falling behind and confusion in learning two languages. However, in my view, positive effects in terms of the ability of these children to learn as well as make them more intelligent override the drawbacks.