In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Ageing populations are an emerging problem for various countries globally. It is argued that having more seniors in a country causes more issues in society. Conversely, some hold a different view and believe that this brings benefits instead. To a large extent, I do believe this is a challenging problem that requires all efforts in society to tackle. Firstly, as much as senior individuals are an integral part of a country, it is an undeniable fact that a large part of the national budget will have to be allocated to elderly care with a population skewing toward older-age citizens, such as funds for elderly welfare, resources for healthcare, and support for caretakers. With a large proportion of the financial budget allocated to elderly policies, little is left for investment in other areas to drive long-term income growth. Another key reason that an ageing population is indeed a huge burden for anywhere in the world is due to a shrinking workforce. Most countries have laws enforcing restrictions on the age for employment, usually after age 60. The working class is the most crucial capital for any country. A minor decline in the workforce due to ageing problems can result in a significant drop in GDP. Taking Japan as an example, between 2023 and 2024, the number of working people has gone down by 5%, which indirectly led to a drastic fall in GDP by around 30%. Without enough strong and healthy individuals to serve the continuous development of the country, To conclude, I am convinced that an imbalanced population with insufficient young people is a long-term problem to solve universally. To a large extent, the detrimental effects it brings far outweigh its benefits.