The government should control the content of violence in films and on TV to decrease the level of violent crime in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to reduce the number of violent crimes committed by people, the government should be more aware of providing films or movies that promote many harsh scenes. However, I can not fully agree or disagree with this statement because it has both benefits and drawbacks for society. Either for teaching people how to defend themself or teaching them how to start a fight, especially for those with mental illness. On the one hand, although watching violent movies can trigger some people to do the same thing if it is viewed from the other side, it may give people a lesson on how to defend themself in urgent situations. Their chances to survive if there are any crimes happening around them will definitely increase. For example, a recent study proves that people who often watch action movies with many violent scenes have a higher chance of surviving terror. On the other hand, too much seeing this content can also influence some people with low mental health. People who have severe depression and anxiety, will be easily triggered to apply those crimes to their friends or family. For instance, the CNN channel on television has shown many shooting cases in school which was conducted by a student who likes watching violent content on television along with their health problems. In conclusion, there are some benefit and disadvantage of showing this content on TV, which as teaching people how to defend themself, as well as, influencing them to practice them in real life. I suggest the government should instead control the audience rather than controlling the contents.