Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is more useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some individuals state that television is useful to educate people whilst others think that it is more beneficial for entertainment. I personally believe that while television offers educational programs to educate people, viewers primarily watch television for recreation because it provides a wide range of entertainment options. Television telecasts educational programs about history, geography, language, and culture of various countries and people in various channels. These programs are informative and thoughtful, and provide practical knowledge and understandings. If viewers watch those programs, they can learn a lot from them and expand their knowledge about different topics. For example, in Bangladesh, a television channel telecasts a program named "Explore the Unnown " every Friday, which allows viewers to learn about lifestyle and geography of different countries, without visiting them. However, I personally believe that the sole purpose of watching television is entertainment. People basically watch television for recreation. Television provides a large number of programs to entertain people. Working persons after a busy and hectic day or students after completing their regular studies sit in front of television to have some entertainment. They require refreshment after a long and busy day, and that is the fundamental cause of watching television. For instance, in the UK, many people from all ages state that they only prefer to watch funny and entertaining programs in television, and they become bored if they watch other types of programs. Therefore, I think that television is more appropriate to entertain people. In conclusion, I personally think that although television facilitates education by telecasting some informative programs, it is more useful for recreation, because people generally watch it for entertainment.