Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, social media platforms have disrupted society since this significantly reduces the quality of time to have conversations. Others believe this technology can reconnect relationships in the community. To begin with, online applications give several benefits to society. This is because digital media helps the public to communicate with each other although they are not in the same places since it provides communication features such as messages and calls. To illustrate this, if there are people who are working abroad or studying abroad, they can use applications such as WhatsApp and Line to reduce the feeling of longing for families, friends, and or lovers. Ultimately, these folk will increase their hard work to complete their purposes to go to other countries. On the other hand, this technology also creates drawbacks for the community. When they are too interested in scrolling TikTok and Instagram, they will not be aware of their surroundings. Interestingly, these habits have been common in the environment thus if there is an individual does not act in a similar way, it creates a stigma to her or his branding as a strange person. Ultimately, it is difficult to avoid using social media too much and then a lot of people will forget to be aware of their surroundings. For example, in the past, several members of families always spent their time sharing stories in the living room but these days these activities have disappeared. In conclusion, I believe the benefits of advancements in technology outweigh the drawbacks as they make communication more accessible. Therefore, my recommendation is we should balance time to participate in both digital and real-life situations.