Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

Nowadays, many people do not know each other in neighbourhoods. While it is because everyone is busy with their jobs or studies, I believe that organizing weekly events for neighbours can be done to make them familiar with each other. In this fast-paced world, many reasons contribute to the unfamiliarity among neighbours. People have jobs and studies. Every single day, we all are busy, from morning to evening we spend time in our workplaces or learning centres. After that, we do not have the willingness to spend time with neighbours, or even with family members. This may be because of social media which has an effect on our lives. We often prefer to spend time on those social networks where we feel relaxed somehow. Additionally, those websites are reducing face-to-face interactions with people, as they provide an opportunity to communicate through our phones and other devices. That is why we do not communicate or even know our next-door neighbours. Even though our busy lives and social media platforms make us distant from each other, there is a single possible solution to this. Organizing weekly events for neighbours can be a great way to get people together. Every week, for example on Sundays people should gather together. Everyone can bring something to eat and communicate together. Besides, just drinking tea or coffee together can create better relationships and strengthen bonds between people in a neighbourhood. Those relationships can be beneficial for all of them when they need help. For example, if an old person, lives in a neighbourhood and does not have any relatives, is sick, neighbours can help as they know that person does not have someone to help. Thus, relationships between neighbours are essential. In conclusion, while busy lives can lead people to not communicate with others in a neighbourhood, I believe that gathering together once a week can help to build relationships with people who can help each other in tough times.