In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological advancements have led to the rapid development of autonomous vehicles recently. It is believed that cars, buses and even trucks are going to operate without a driver. Although this is thought to pose some challenges, I firmly think that the merits easily outweigh the drawbacks. Initially, such innovation is certainly going to reflect in the number of road accidents. It is reported that almost all car accidents are due to human errors, such as exhaustion or poor judgment while driving. These kinds of errors could be corrected by the intelligence of technology. For example, Tesla is a very well-known company for its production of self-driving cars. Tesla reports that there was a decline in the number of car accidents by more than 40% after only one year since the introduction of these smart cars. Another benefit of autonomous cars is that, they will aid in driving disabled individuals who are incapable of driving. This will boost their quality of life and help them live more comfortably. Admittedly, this can lead to a lot of unemployment in driving-related jobs leaving thousands of people jobless such as delivering services and truck drivers. Moreover, relying completely on technology can account for some risks. If an error was to occur or any of these devices were ever to be hacked that could lead to a disaster and risk to public safety which could lead to serious safety issues. In a nutshell, while there are disadvantages related to employment and security, the advantages of driverless cars, practically in terms of safety are very significant. With the proper regulations, I believe that the transition to autonomous vehicles will bring long-lasting benefits to society.