Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the worrying trends in modern society is that children can not stay focused for a long time and find it challenging to concentrate in class. This occurs for several reasons; digital devices enable children to get used to instant gratification and a sedentary lifestyle impacts kids’ ability to concentrate. This essay will also suggest solutions to this problem including reducing screen use time and encouraging physical exercise. The main causes of short attention span are digital distraction and lack of physical activity. Specifically, the widespread use of smartphones, computers and tablets has created constant distractions for children. The allure of social media, instant messaging applications and various video games divert teenagers’ attention from schoolwork as these things are more engaging and allow them to have fun without effort. Nevertheless, learning is considered a dull activity to varying degrees and requires more dedication and time to achieve. Apart from digital distraction, lack of regular exercise also gives rise to a short attention span. When individuals do not engage in regular physical activity, it can lead to poor physical health, which in turn affects cognitive function, including attention span. There are two main solutions that can simply address this problem. One is to limit the screen time for students. Given that if children are only allowed to use digital devices one hour a day after school, they can allocate more time for learning activities without distractions in school. Another is that schools and parents can cooperate to provide more opportunities for adolescents to exercise, such as implementing daily PE lessons and organizing sports programs during the weekend. In conclusion, overuse of digital devices and insufficient physical activity have taken a heavy toll on children ’s attention, and it in turn leads to poor academic performance and a lazy lifestyle. Looking into the future, schools and parents should make great concerted efforts to prevent children from glueing their eyes on the screen for a long time and ensure they have regular physical exercise.