Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Modern food and beverages have an extreme amount of sugar, which is harmful to people's health. Therefore, taxes should be imposed on these products in order to lower the consumption of sugar among individuals. I agree with the statement because the additional taxes added upon sugary goods' price will encourage consumers to buy less sweet products, and it correspondingly will positively contribute to their health and well-being. Firstly, nowadays producers put a tremendous amount of fructose and glucose into their products. Meals and drinks contain these elements, which gradually ruin population's teeth and cause problems related to skin, for instance, more acne occurs on the face. Moreover, it slowly evolves into an addiction, making a person a sugar addict in the long term. Although, various beverages such as coke and Pepsi are known as relatively unhealthy drinks, society still consume them because they are just used to. Additional costs added to the initial price of these commodities will definitely influence the community's decision-making. Individuals always respond to incentives, and the adjustment of the cost will lead to the decrease in the demand for saccharine food. The government incorporates a similar policy towards cigarettes and alcohol, thus their consumption drops year by year. This tax will be tremendously helpful for human health, because people will have to substitute glucose and fructose that they obtained from unhealthy products by eating healthier food, for instance, fruits and vegetables. In conclusion, the imposition of additional cost on the initial price will definitely decrease the overall consumption of saccharine commodities because human beings always respond to the provided incentives, and consequently, it will increase public well-being.