With the advancement in healthcare and technology, people now have a longer lifespan. Some argue that the retirement age which is normally 60 to 65 years of age should be adjusted to 70 years or even higher. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? Give reasons and example to state your stance

Nowadays, people are experiencing longer life periods due to the improvement in health and technology quality. In the past, only a few made it to 70, but nowadays majority can live healthily until the age of 80. Due to this phenomenon, people are arguing whether the retirement age for working could be added up to 5-10 years to 70 years old or later. I opine that the changing age policy is unnecessary and should only be done with several conditions. In this essay, I am going to talk about the two sides considering this issue: physical health and mental readiness. Talking about retirement age, the most important factor is health problems. While some elderly might appear to be in their prime condition, we can not resist that the body is ageing and has a totally different endurance than when they were younger. The current healthcare might solve complex issues. However, assuming that people start working at 25 years old and stop at 65, forty years should be enough period for the body to work. Additionally, most office workers are required to sit for a long time and commute every day. For example, in Japan, folk spend more than 9 hours daily going to the office, doing their jobs, and going home. The hours can be longer when they do overwork. Therefore, I do not think it is necessary to put the physical burden longer by postponing the deadline when someone is already 65 years old. On the other hand, entirely stopping work is not an easy milestone to conquer. While one's physical condition is essential to think of, some find it hard to accept the fact that they are no longer productive and earning money. The mental readiness is another factor to talk about. Not everyone feels at peace to put an end to their income source, they would rather have something to do every day. Furthermore, a part-time job for elders can be an option. By working part-time, retired workers are able to work in less hours, still earn money, and be productive. Several countries, such as the Philippines and Singapore, have adopted this. Additionally, this opportunity connects them to a new community, too. In conclusion, although the current era has shown an increasing life span, it does not mean the retirement rules need to be increased. Health issues come first when considering the urgency of this matter. However, another option, such as part-time work, can be considered for those who are still willing to be active.