Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neigbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, the popularity of doing unpaid community service has increased. There are several advantages of doing society services for teenage students such as developing their soft skills. This essay agrees that community services should be part of high school programmes. Firstly, students can learn the responsibilities of teamwork. For example, individuals sometimes have to work together with their colleagues at their work and if they are bad at working as a team, they will struggle in their professional lives. In order to prevent that individuals should work on improving the neighbourhoods, when they study at the high school and this gives them an opportunity to understand what are teamwork and its responsibilities. Thus, public services have the advantage of teaching teamwork to young people. Secondly, they can understand what empathy is and why it is so important, For instance, empathy is understanding other people's feelings like their own feelings and this is crucial for relationships and public issues. If students do charity work or help their elders as a compulsory public service, they can understand the emotion of empathy and this is a chance for students to be successful in the future. Therefore, empathy plays an essential role in people's lives. In conclusion, the advantages of doing public service have some benefits for teenagers. It is clear that community services should be compulsory for high school students because students can improve their knowledge about science and literature but if they want to develop their soft skills, students should do public services.