Some people believe that the personal information of violent criminals should be made available to the public. Others think that this information should be protected.

There is an ongoing debate regarding the release of criminal information to the public. I firmly believe that citizens should have the right to access the data of violent criminals not only for the public good but also for a lower crime rate. Some people argue that the information of offenders should be protected. They are concerned that there might be innocent people victimized who cannot explain the incident properly. Importantly, the main reason of prisoning is to improve criminals ' personalities not to warn people. For instance, a lot of cases of wrong judgements are easily seen in the news after a long time of imprisonment. If their personal information is already spread to their neighbour, they might stand against society. On the other hand, there are a lot of people who suggest that citizens should be informed of the exact information about criminals to protect the community. People can protect themselves after being provided the details of criminals and put an extra caution when they need to stroll the street, especially at night. In addition, releasing the information can help to reduce the rate of crime in the society. In particular, South Korea publicized the information of criminals who skirt the law of sexual harassment. The neighbours who live near the criminals can take advantage of the information and will be able to protect their families. To sum up, while some people support the idea of hiding culprits' information, I strongly insist that the government should share information about incidents and their culprits. If those are available to the citizens, it can absolutely contribute to society better and safer.