People are living in a ‘throwaway society,’ using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Nowadays society is using items that can only be used for a short period of time before being thrown away. In this essay, I will examine the factors that contribute towards it and the impact of it to environment. There are few reasons why people do not use things in a long term. Firstly, in recent generations, people are being raised differently from the past. They are given what they want easily, making them value their belongings less. To illustrate, a child who is given a new toy every day will not care if they lose it. In contrast, if they are being given a toy once in a while, they will treasure it more. Secondly, people tend to use things that can be used in a wide variety of applications and can be disposed easily for example plastic. When buying food in convenience store, it is usually kept in a plastic bag because it can be disposed easily after the food is eaten. Lastly, most companies are probably making their products less durable and sustainable to increase their sales and profits. By making their products not long-lasting, customers will have to purchase a new one. For instance, Tupperware company went bankrupt because the customers did not repurchase their items due to their resistant and durable products. Having an enermous amount of garbage is a waste of space and can harm the environment. To dispose the garbage from the Earth, we need to burn them. The result of burning trash is greenhouses emissions, such as carbon dioxide, leading to global warming. Another that is being done to get rid of the garbage is to throw them on the ocean, resulting in injuring and killing marine wildlife. In conclusion, using products in a short period may be convenient and affordable. This essay stated that the impacts on this are harming the environment as well as wildlife.