If old people are no longer physically, mentally, or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As people grow old it gets tough to look after every aspect of life, some might struggle to maintain health and finances, at that time it should be a responsibility for the younger members of the family to look after the elderly. I agree with the statement, it is a moral obligation of the children to take care of their parents in old age. Life gets difficult when we cross a certain age, our body and mind need more rest and recovery time. As in our immune system gets weak and we cannot fight all the diseases, rendering our ability to work efficently. Moreover most of the elderly find it difficult to carry out day-to-day tasks. Eventually, they find themselves in need of assistance. At this time most of them turn to their offspring in the hope that they will look after them and assist them, which is very common in most of the Nations. For example; most of the children live with their parents for as long as possible. However, there are some cases where elders are neglected. Most of this exists in metro cities where the husband and the wife both are focused on their career and unable to support family members in need. In such senerio scenarios, they should invest in a caretaker that will offer assistance to the elderly, or even retirement houses are also convenient, they are surrounded by same-age people making them feel comfortable and in the presence of someone to talk to. All in all, It should be a moral responsibility rather than a legal responsibility to take care of the old members as they were there to help us when we were young so it is our duty to reciprocate the same for them.