Some people believe it is a good idea to socialize with work colleagues during evenings and weekends. Others think it is important to keep work life completely separate from social life. This essay will discuss both views and present my opinion.

These days, there is a widespread disagreement on the issue of extending relations with co-workers or not. While some consider this to be beneficial for employees, others argue that not broadening relationships with colleagues is more advisable. In this essay, I will explore both these views and present my personal perspective. First of all, it is an irrefutable fact that spending time with colleagues outside work could play a crucial role in fostering their relationships. Having socialized outside work provides the opportunity and time to talk about preferences and favourites, which makes co-workers more familiar with each others’ characteristics and personalities, leading to the sustainability of their relationships. For instance, attending a cinema with colleagues and analysing the movie could help them discover their co-worker’s way of thinking and interests. This approach, therefore, could pave the way to reach a quick conclusion about continuing their connection with a particular colleague or even straining it. On the other hand, however, I believe that the association with co-workers out of work could lead to insurmountable consequences. Workplaces are competitive environments, where employees compete to receive higher salaries as well as get promotions. Nonetheless, the gatherings out of occupation could make co-workers more aware of each other’s private issues at work. For example, the emerged intimacy after spending additional time with co-workers would allow them to ask about the salaries and bonuses they receive at work, which would stimulate their jealousy. Consequently, these feelings might make them manipulate their colleagues ’ documents on their personal computers or publish wrong reports about them to underestimate their efficiency and accuracy or taint their personality at work. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the drawbacks of socializing with colleagues far outweigh its benefits. Furthermore, if occupants in all jobs wish to make quick progress in their professions, they should avoid indiscriminate links.