Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The perspectives on what kind of lifestyle people nowadays live vary significantly. Some people look upon modern life as more independent than previous, while others are convinced that now we rely more on each other. As far as I am concerned, I am strongly in favor of the latter statement, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. An array of factors might lead to why individuals seem more independent in this modern world. First of all, everyone can entertain themselves without interacting with others since the rapid development of technology. To be more specific, there are numerous activities that enable us to do on our own thanks to access to the Internet. For instance, during holidays, many young adults prefer to spend their time watching movies on mobile phones or iPads, which still brings them happiness even if staying alone at home. Furthermore, with the souring living costs, the majority of people are forced to live independently to save money. This is because we often make unnecessary purchases on impulse when going out with friends. On the other hand, in my opinion, people tend to be more dependent on others for several causes. To begin with, the number of multinational businesses in many industries rose sharply, resulting in more opportunities for cooperation across different departments in a company. For example, product managers at Google need to hold numerous online meetings with workers from both the risk management and the software development teams every day. In addition, the prevalence of social media strengthens people ’s bonds with each other. Users can not only text messages to their friends but also leave comments below the posts by strangers. In contrast, the traditional lifestyle is limited to talking face-to-face, so people might be focused more on their own lives rather than others. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, people become more dependent on each other due to the increasing chances of working with others and communication brought by social media.