Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of citizens is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Free health care is always been a topic on which people have distinct views. Some believe that it should not be free at all for anyone, as it’s ultimately the individual’s responsibility to maintain their health. However, I oppose that viewpoint and believe in free-of-charge medical care. My stand is further explained with relevant examples. Several benefits of no-cost healthcare can be put forth to illustrate how our society can benefit from it. The primary reason is that it provides equal access to everyone regardless of their socio-economic status. Having high income should not have any benefits when it comes to health as everyone deserves to be equally treated in our society and also it’s inhumane to prioritize wealth over health. For example, a person who is on the list of top earners in the country should not leverage that to get special treatment while accessing health services. Additionally, humans cannot have perfect health conditions throughout their lives. Due to the fact that there will be always possibilities for unforeseen circumstances which are impossible to be prepared for, like accidents, a sudden breakout of disease as well as genetic disorders. The recent global breakout of the COVID-19 virus led to the deaths of more than ten million people. However, more than 100 million people who got infected with the virus were saved due to access to free treatments and medications. To conclude, free-of-charge medical services are imperative in our society as humanity is beyond wealth, and also it is crucial when times are tough and saving human beings is vital, which is the aim of health care.