In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, more companies prefer to use an Internet connection rather than live gatherings. This essay primarily suggests that communication from different locations saves time, and functional options such as screen sharing and the rapid transportation of essential files are the biggest advantages, outweighing cybersecurity risks as the main drawback. The main reason for using cyberspace during meetings is convenience among workers as today huge companies have small offices in various locations, even in different geographic areas. So, employees are encouraged to organize online meetings instead of face-to-face communication that can be planned for a long time for people from other regions. For example, the bank, where I am working now, allows gatherings only using the Internet, preferring a quick operativity. In addition, via the Internet individuals can show their screen on a desktop computer and transfer necessary documents through a chat, avoiding the traditional approach, where a speaker should take documents and physical equipment, such as a laptop and microphone, and check to workability that need more cycled actions. Such possibilities are offered by certified companies such as Google and Microsoft with their services, which are named Google Meetings and Teams, respectively. In contrast, the viable disadvantage is safety problems on the Internet owing to the fact that people named “black hackers” can get unauthenticated access to files, containing sensitive data. A malefactor can use it for his own goals which can lead to reputation risks for a company. Also, the consequences might involve common individuals, who leave their private information that can serve as a help for robbery. To conclude, the fact that opting Internet as a type of communication leads to effective time management and multifunctionality outweighs the flawed argument about illegal access in corporations.